|
| Academic OneFile Multidisciplinary database providing full text articles from over 12,000 scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| Academic Search Complete Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and select full text of scholarly and popular publications in a wide variety of subject disciplines, including art, literature, education, history, sociology, science, and engineering. Because of its broad subject and full text coverage, Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for research on virtually any topic.
Click here for a search tutorial.Coverage Dates: 1887 to present |
| Access World News Full text access to approximately 3,000 global news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, Web-only content and video. This database is especially strong in local and international news, including over 50 New York news sources and over 1,300 overseas sources. Coverage varies by title. [CSI]Coverage Dates: 1977 to present |
| ACM Digital Library Full text of Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Includes The Guide to Computing Literature, which offers abstracts of books, articles, papers, and technical reports published by ACM and other publishers.Coverage Dates: 1985 to present |
| ACS Chemical Journals Full text of journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Find articles in all areas of chemistry as well as related fields such as environmental science, biotechnology, material science, pharmacology, and toxicology.
Click here for Chemical and Engineering NewsCoverage Dates: 1879 to present |
| America: History and Life Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes major titles such as Journal of American History, American Historical Review, and American Quarterly. (For world history see Historical Abstracts). [CSI]Coverage Dates: 1964 to present |
| American Civil War Research Database The definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Includes military records for over 4 million soldiers, 4,000 regimental histories, 3,000 battle accounts and reports, 15,000 photographs, and much useful statistical information and analytical tools. |
| American Memory Digital collection of historical materials from the Library Congress. Includes a variety of manuscripts, pamphlets, images, audio and video recordings, maps, and sheet music that document U.S. history and culture. Users can search across all collections or browse by topic. |
| American Society for Microbiology Journals Full text access to journals published by the American Society for Microbiology including: Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Clinical Microbiology, and Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews. Citations and abstracts for back issues are available.Coverage Dates: 2011 to present |
| Anthropological Index Online Searchable index of article citations from anthropology journals at the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Includes major
titles from all over the world such as Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropology Today, Ethnology, and Journal of Material Culture.Coverage Dates: 1957 to present |
| APA PsycNET APA PsycNET® searches vital behavioral science content efficiently with APA PsycNET's uniquely engineered cross-database searching. |
| Applied Science and Technology Abstracts This database formerly from H.W. Wilson contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties?acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. |
| Applied Science and Technology Full Text Subjects Covered:
Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Artificial Intelligence, Atmospheric Sciences, Automatic Control, Automotive Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication & Information Technology, Computer Databases & Software, Construction, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Engineering & Biomedical Materials, Energy Resources & Research, Environmental Engineering, Fire & Fire Prevention, Food & Food Industry, Geology, Industrial Engineering, Machine Learning, Machinery, Marine Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgy, Mineralogy, Mining Engineering, Neural Networks, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Optical & Neural Computing, Petroleum & Gas, Physics, Plastics, Robotics, Solid State Technology, Space Science, Textile Industry & Fabrics, Transportation, Waste Management, Other Industrial & Mechanical Arts.Coverage Dates: 1984 to present |
| Applied Science and Technology Index Retrospective Subjects Covered:
Acoustics, Aeronautics, Applied Mathematics, Atmospheric Science, Automatic Control, Automotive Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication & Information Technology, Construction, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Engineering & Biomedical Materials, Energy Resources & Research, Environmental Engineering, Fire & Fire Prevention, Food & Food Industry, Geology, Industrial Engineering, Machine Learning, Machinery, Marine Technology, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgy, Meteorology, Mineralogy, Mining Engineering, Nuclear Engineering, Oceanography, Petroleum & Gas, Physics, Plastics, Solid State Technology, Space Science, Textile Industry & Fabrics, Transportation, Waste Management.Coverage Dates: 1913 to 1983 |
| APS: Journals of the American Physical Society Full text access to the journals of the American Physical Society from 1893 to present, including Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A - E.Coverage Dates: 1893 to present |
| Art Abstracts Citations and abstracts from over 400 leading art publications throughout the world covering the fields of art history, architecture,
graphic design, photography, sculpture, and museology. Find feature articles, artist profiles, exhibit reviews, and art
reproductions. This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications?now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.Coverage Dates: indexing from 1984+ to abstracts from 1994+ |
| Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access,
free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. The images displayed on this site have been photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature. |
| Art Museum Image Gallery Digital library containing over 155,000 art images from the museum collections around the world. Many include curatorial text, provenance data, multiple views, and related multimedia. Spans artistic creation from 3000 B.C. to the present, with fine and decorative art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples.Coverage Dates: 3000 B.C. to present |
| Arts & Humanities Citation Index Part of the Web of Science, Arts & Humanities Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the arts and humanities, including architecture, art, classics, dance, literature, music, philosophy, film, religion, and theater.Coverage Dates: 2004 to present |
| ARTstor ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Faculty members may request "instructor privileges" which provide enhanced functionality, including the ability to create shared folders, instructor commentary, and personal collections. To request "instructor privilege" please contact Mark Aaron Polger at MarkAaron.Polger@csi.cuny.edu |
| Associations Unlimited Provides information on nonprofit membership associations and professional societies worldwide, plus IRS information on over 300,000 U.S. nonprofit organizations. | |
| Bartlett's Familiar Quotations Free, online edition of Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (published in 1919). Contains over 11,000 searchable quotations,
phrases, and proverbs from the ancient and classical world and traces them back to their sources in literature.Coverage Dates: 1340 to 1918 |
| Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art Find citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations on the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present.Coverage Dates: 1975 to 2009 |
| Biography Index Retrospective A comprehensive and significant listing of biographical content from periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases, plus select other titles. Some 623,000 articles and book citations have been included?information on individuals that reflect the perspectives of the times. It includes interviews and profiles of history-makers, covering almost 40 years.
You will find citations to feature articles, biographies, obituaries, books and book parts. The number of people covered in the database is about 300,000. It covers asked-about public figures, including writers, artists, statesmen, sports figures, politicians, religious leaders, scientists, educators, military leaders, teachers, actors, business people, and more.Coverage Dates: 1946 to 1983 |
| Biography Reference Bank Wilson's largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you?ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!Coverage Dates: Ancient Times to Present |
| Biography Reference Center Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. In addition to keyword searching, users can also locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others. |
| Biological Abstracts Citations and abstracts of journal articles in the life sciences, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.Coverage Dates: 2004 to present |
| Biological and Agricultural Index Plus Database formerly from H.W. Wilson for biological subjects. |
| BIOSIS Previews Citations and abstracts to journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, physiology, and zoology.Coverage Dates: 1969 to present |
| Black Thought and Culture Full text of over 1,200 books, essays, articles, pamphlets, and speeches related to African American history from colonial times to the present. Sources include published books as well as previously unpublished materials such as letters,
correspondence, and interviews. In addition to searching by keyword, users can browse documents by multiple criteria such as
author, title, date, subject, or historical event.Coverage Dates: 1700 to present |
| Book Review Digest Plus Citations and select full text of fiction and non-fiction book reviews published since 1983. Encompasses more than one million reviews covering over 550,000 books.Coverage Dates: 1983 to present |
| Book Review Digest Retrospective Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson?s Book Review Digest, this Retrospective database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Virtually every major idea that shaped the 20th century found expression in books. The reactions to those ideas are reflected in the reviews of those books, and this database makes it easy to search this vast record of information.Coverage Dates: 1903 to 1982 |
| Books In Print Information and reviews for in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audio books, and videos. Includes access to Non-Fiction Connection and Fiction Connection, readers' advisory resources for locating book recommendations and identifying similar titles. |
| Brill's New Pauly - Encyclopedia Of The Ancient World Online edition of Brill's New Pauly, the authoritative encyclopedia of the ancient world. Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than 2,000 years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship. Available in English and German. |
| Burney Collection Newspapers - 17th and 18th century 1 million newspaper pages
Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations
The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers
Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.
NEW from CUNY |
| Business and Company ASAP Citations and select full text articles from business journals, newspapers, and trade publications. Includes a directory of company profiles.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| Business Insights: Essentials A fully integrated business resource bringing together news articles, company profiles, industry overviews, brand and product information, business rankings, and investment reports. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.Coverage Dates: 1977 to present |
| Business Source Complete Full text journals in all fields of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and
economics. Covers major titles such as Harvard Business Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of
Management Studies, and Journal of Marketing Research. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.Coverage Dates: 1886 to present | |
| Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities Helps professors, graduate students, and researchers publish their manuscripts in academic journals and maintains current information on over 4,000 journals. This information includes addresses, phones, e-mails and web sites for our listed journals making Cabell's Directories an easy point of reference when preparing to publish a manuscript. |
| Cambridge Collections Online Full text of the Cambridge Companions book series with over 320 titles and 70,000 essays, which provide introductions and overviews of major topics and figures in literature, art, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the Shakespeare Survey series, a compendium of Shakespeare criticism with each volume devoted to a particular theme or group of plays. (read online) |
| Cambridge Histories Online The Cambridge Histories have become an established and essential component of the academic research library, and now, for the first time, over 290 of these well-known, used and trusted volumes are available online, adding immense value to the texts and enhancing any aspect of historical research, covering various aspects of world history including law, politics, religion, philosophy, science, and economics. |
| Cambridge Journals Online Full text access to over 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities published by Cambridge
University Press. Note: the Library does not have full text access to all journals in the collection. Access the subscribed list here.Coverage Dates: 2007 to present |
| Caribbean studies This multidisciplinary journal publishes original works on social studies and the humanities for persons interested in keeping up with the ongoing research and writing in the field of Caribbean Studies. |
| Center for International Policy - The Americas Program With more than 30 years of experience in Latin American news and analysis, the Americas Program of the Center for International Policy is a leading source of information for activists, academics and citizens concerned about US foreign policy toward Latin America and movements for social justice within the hemisphere. |
| Center for Research Libraries (CRL) The Center for Research Libraries makes available more than 4.5 million publications, archives, and collections and one million digital resources to its members libraries to supplement their own humanities, science, and social science holdings. Center materials can be obtained for extended loan periods and at no cost by users affiliated with member libraries. |
| Chemical & Engineering News Online Weekly online magazine published by the American Chemical Society covering all aspects of the chemistry field, including technology, industry, government, education, and employment. C&EN offers the latest news, special features, links to related web content, and back issues of the magazine since 1998.Coverage Dates: 1998 to present |
| Chicago Manual of Style Online Electronic edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, the authoritative source for Chicago citation style and writing guidelines used in History and the Humanities. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: Z253.U69 2003] |
| Child Welfare Information Gateway Gateway to information on child safety, welfare and adoption maintained by the Administration for Children and Families of the Department of Health and Human Services. Contains information about child welfare topics, including child abuse prevention, family preservation, and foster care. Includes an index to relevant reports, articles, books, websites, and statistics.Coverage Dates: 1965 to present |
| Christian Science Monitor [Proquest] The Christian Science Monitor is an international news organization that delivers thoughtful, global coverage via its website, weekly magazine, daily news and more.Coverage Dates: 1988 to present |
| Chronicle of Higher Education Premier source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes email newsletters, Academe Today, Chronicle Review. Features daily
news and advice columns; current job listings; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management,
salary databases, and more. Full text is available for all issues published since 1989. Issues from 1966 to 2000 are
available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.Coverage Dates: 1989 to present |
| Chronicle of Philanthropy This include all the news, trend analysis, and fundraising strategies from the print edition; a searchable archive of back issues and news updates; all the data from our annual surveys on giving, foundations, executive salaries, and our ranking of charities in our Philanthropy 400 report are in easy-to-search databases; listings of recently made grants and the latest news of grant makers and corporate giving trends; and much more.Coverage Dates: 1998 to present |
| CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online Find articles, conference proceedings, working papers, and policy briefs covering all aspects of global affairs and international relations. Also provides country data and teaching materials such as case studies and course packs of background readings.Coverage Dates: 1991 to present |
| CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Citations and select full text from over 3,800 nursing & allied health journals. Also offers full text health care books, standards of practice, evidence based care sheets, clinical trials, and research instrument records.Coverage Dates: 1937 to present |
| Cinema Image Gallery Digital library of still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry. A rich visual source for film and TV history, the database contains still images of films in production, directors working on-set with the stars, set, costume and production design, and rare behind-the-scenes material. Cinema Image Gallery includes over 150,000 superior-quality images, along with a treasure-trove of over 4,000 poster art and lobby cards used to promote the movies.Coverage Dates: 1900 to present |
| Civil Engineering Database Citations to journals, books, proceedings, magazines and newspapers published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) covering all aspects of civil engineering, including aerospace, architectural, environmental, hydraulic, bridge and transportation engineering.Coverage Dates: 1900 to present |
| Cochrane Library A collection of databases for the study and practice of evidence-based healthcare. Provides reliable, up-to-date information and evidence to support healthcare decisions, including systematic reviews, methodological studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and clinical trials. |
| Communications and Mass Media Complete Abstracts and select full text from over 650 journals in communications and mass media. Covers topics in journalism, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.Coverage Dates: 1915 to present |
| Community of Science Resources for professional development and research in all areas of study. Includes a database of current grants, scholarships, and awards, a searchable directory of scholar profiles, and tools to help you create and share your CV online. Free registration required. |
| Computers and Applied Sciences Complete Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,000 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 950 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals. |
| Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science Part of the Web of Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science provides citations to papers and proceedings of science conferences from 1990 to present.Coverage Dates: 1990 to present |
| Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities Part of the Web of Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities provides citations to papers and proceedings of social science and humanities conferences from 1990 to present.Coverage Dates: 1990 to present |
| Country Studies Descriptions and analyses of the social, economic, political, and military systems of countries throughout the world. |
| County and City Data Books (GEOSTAT) Online access to County and City Data Books from 1944 to 2000. Find population, income, health, and employment statistics for U.S. cities, counties, and states. Users can create customized data sets and printouts.Coverage Dates: 1944 to 2000 |
| CQ Press Political Reference Suite Full text reference books on American politics including Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History, Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion, and Guide to Political Campaigns in America. |
| CQ Researcher Full text reports written by seasoned journalists about current social, political, and economic issues. Includes topics in health, education, international affairs, public policy, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report includes a concise overview of an issue, historical background, opposing arguments, statistics and polls, and suggestions for further reading. Great place to begin research on current affairs issues.Coverage Dates: 1991 to present |
| CUNY Libraries Electronic Resources List of all databases and e-journals acquired by CUNY Central. |
| CUNY videos CUNY channel on YouTube from CUNYmedia with 294 (as of April 2012) video clips of various subjects. They can only be sorted by most popular, newest, or oldest, which is five years ago. |
| CUNY+ Search CUNY+, the university's online catalog, to find books and other resources located in the CSI library and other CUNY libraries. Search tutorial. | |
| Directory of Open Access Journals Full text articles from free, open access scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and languages. Search for articles by keyword or browse through journals by subject. |
| Duke University Press Journals Duke University Press publishes and distributes more than thirty periodicals that span a stimulating range of disciplines within the humanities and sciences--from East Asian cultural studies to French history, from lesbian and gay studies to mathematics and the history of economic thought, from feminism, culture and media studies to medieval and early modern studies. | |
| Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Digital collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States between 1639-1800. Early American Imprints is the definitive resource for primary source research in early American history. Topics covered include agriculture, commerce, education, labor, medicine, military & foreign affairs, politics, religion, slavery, and much more. (download pdf)Coverage Dates: 1639 to 1800 |
| ebook help Help from various sources |
| ebrary Access to over 70,000 full text ebooks spanning 16 key academic subject areas, including biology, business, computer science, education, engineering, history, medicine, physics, political science, psychology, and sociology.
In order to read offline, you can download one chapter to save permanently.
To borrow the entire ebook for a limited time first create an account.
Click here for downloading instructions from ebrary
Coverage Dates: 1864 to present |
| EBSCO eBook Collection Access to over 5,000 full text e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Find full text scholarly and reference books in a variety of subjects, including business, economics, computer science, history, political science, art, literature, and science.
In order to read offline or download to a reader, first create an account.
View Download Tutorial
Access the TRIAL through August |
| EBSCOhost Databases Databases available through EBSCOhost such as Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, PsycInfo, and ERIC. Search databases individually or simultaneously.
Click here for a search tutorial. |
| EBSCOhost Multiple Database Search Federated search portal that allows you to search a variety of databases and electronic resources simultaneously. Simply select a subject to search all databases in that subject area. EBSCOhost Integrated Search makes it easier to access many electronic resources from a single search interface. Popular databases include, but are not limited to: Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, LexisNexis, CQ Researcher, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and WorldCat. |
| EconLit Citations and abstracts of literature in economics. Includes coverage of major journals as well as books, book reviews, conference papers, dissertations, and working papers.Coverage Dates: 1969 to present |
| Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006 Full text of The Economist, a weekly magazine of worldwide politics, business, and current affairs, from 1843 to 2006.Coverage Dates: 1843 to 2006 |
| EditLib The vision for EdITLib, the Digital Library for Education & Information Technology, is to facilitate learning, discovery and innovation by connecting scholarly research on Educational Technology/E-Learning with learning opportunities. |
| Education Full Text Citations and abstracts from over 600 education journals covering a wide range of topics such as competency-based education, instructional technology, student counseling, multicultural education, literacy standards, and much more.Coverage Dates: 1983 to present |
| Education Index Retrospective Citations to articles from over 800 education periodicals published from 1929 to 1983. Topics covered include adult education, distance learning, literacy standards, school administration, and teaching methods.Coverage Dates: 1929 to 1983 |
| Education Research Complete Abstracts and select full text of journal articles, conference papers, and books in education. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.Coverage Dates: 1865 to present |
| Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Full text education journals published by SAGE Publications, including American Educational Research Journal, Journal of Early Childhood Research, and Review of Educational Research.Coverage Dates: 1917 to present |
| eHRAF World Cultures Full text database offering information on different cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. Covers all aspects of cultural and social life such as beliefs, cultural practices, political structure, and settlement patterns. Each cultural profile consists of a "cultural summary" and a list of relevant full text sources. Users can search by keyword or browse by subject, region, or culture. Very useful for comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. User Guide. |
| Eighteenth Century Collections Online Digital collection of books printed in the 18th century, primarily in Great Britain. Subjects covered include history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. (download pdf)
NEW PART 2 FROM CUNY
|
| Encyclopedia Americana General encyclopedia covering arts, geography, history, religion, philosophy, sports, science, technology and current events. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: AE5.E333 2004]. |
| EndNote Web Web-based bibliographic citation manager available through Web of Knowledge that allows researchers to store and organize references imported from databases and automatically generate formatted bibliographies. Registration is required. If you already have a Web of Knowledge account, you can use the same login to access EndNote Web. |
| ERIC (EBSCO) The world's premier database of education literature. Contains over one million abstracts of articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers on educational research and practice since 1966. Provides full text options not available from the U.S. Department of Education version.Coverage Dates: 1966 to present |
| ERIC (U.S. Department of Education) The world's premier database of education literature sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains over one million abstracts of articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers on educational research and practice since 1966. Includes the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, an index of education-related terms and phrases used to describe ERIC records and useful for finding articles on your topic.Coverage Dates: 1966 to present |
| Essay and General Literature Index Citations to essays and book chapters contained in printed collections and anthologies. Includes books across the entire spectrum of the humanities and social sciences, with subjects ranging from economics, political science, literature, art, and history.Coverage Dates: 1985 to present |
| Essay and General Literature Retrospective A bibliographic database that cites essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. It covers 8 Centuries (1900-1984) of essays, annuals and serial publications from the 20th Century.Coverage Dates: 1900 to 1984 |
| Ethnic Newswatch Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Covers of a wide spectrum of ethnic viewpoints, including African-American, Jewish, Latino, Native-American, and Asian-American publications.Coverage Dates: 1990 to present | |
| Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST) Search country profiles to find statistics and data on armed forces, weapons production, military expenditures, government, human rights, and population. |
| FedStats One-stop shopping for all statistical information collected by the Federal Government. Includes data from over 100 federal agencies on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, energy, transportation, and more. |
| Film Literature Index Citations to film and television literature from 1976-2001. Includes such titles as Camera Obscura, Screen, Variety, and Journal of Popular Culture.Coverage Dates: 1976 to 2001 |
| Films on Demand Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational video content into your curriculum by providing easy integration with learning management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic card catalog systems. Thousands of documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world's best producers including, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, the BBC and more. Currently, the college subscribes to the Master Academic Collection (Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, Health) and Archival Films & Newsreel Collection. |
| FindLaw Gateway to legal information and resources such as cases and codes, state, federal, and international law, law firms, legal
forms, small business resources, and a legal dictionary. |
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Full text encyclopedia; useful for locating world facts, topical overviews, and personal biographies. | |
| Gale Academic OneFile Multidisciplinary database providing full text articles from over 12,000 scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. |
| Gale For Students Online Full text literary reference collection offering coverage of major works of literature, poetry, and drama including plot summaries, character analysis, major themes and motifs, and literary criticism. Titles include Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, Shakespeare for Students, and Nonfiction Classics for Students. |
| Gale General One-File Search over 12,000 general interest periodicals for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics in current events, business, education, health care, social issues, and technology.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| Gale Infotrac Newstand InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Click for Publication List.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. Search all titles or browse titles by subject.
Click on the "Title LIst" for contents.
Title List |
| GARTNER Provides research and analysis of the global information technology industry, covering current and emerging IT issues, trends, companies and products. To access GARTNER, login to the CUNY Portal and click on the link for GARTNER. For more information, click here. |
| General Science Full Text Citations and select full text of scientific literature from popular and scholarly publications. Designed specifically for students and non-specialists. Covers a wide array of subjects including biology, chemistry, medicine, environmental science, botany, and zoology.Coverage Dates: 1984 to present |
| Google Art Project Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces. |
| Google Books Offers full text of older books in the public domain and limited previews of select recent books. |
| Google Scholar Search engine for scholarly literature on the web. Searches across disciplines for journal articles, theses, books,
conference papers, and technical reports from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories,
universities and other scholarly organizations. Some articles may be available for free on the web. Others are only available
through the library's subscription databases. To locate full text for those articles, click on the link "Find Full Text at
CSI" (only available when using a campus computer or accessing Google Scholar thru the campus proxy). |
| GreenFILE Abstracts and select full-text of articles from scholarly, government, and general interest publications that address human
impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture,
renewable energy, recycling, and more.Coverage Dates: 1913 to present |
| Grolier Online Search full text encyclopedias such as Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science. |
| Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online) A comprehensive music reference work covering all aspects of popular and classical music. Find artist/composer biographies, definitions of key terms, descriptions of major musical works and instruments, and encyclopedia articles on musical genres, styles, and traditions. | |
| Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Provides descriptions and reviews of behavioral measurement instruments used in health assessment, psychosocial evaluation,
and behavior studies, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, coding schemes, rating scales, checklists, indexes, and tests.Coverage Dates: 1985 to present |
| Health Reference Center Academic Offers medical topic overviews from Clinical Reference Systems and numerous medical reference books as well as full text of nursing and allied health journals.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Full text nursing and allied health journals published by SAGE Publications, including Clinical Nursing Research,
Journal of Transcultural Nursing , and Nursing Science Quarterly.Coverage Dates: 1879 to present |
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Abstracts and select full text from nursing and allied health journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which
contains patient education sheets for generic and brand name drugs, and the Merriam-Webster Medical Desk Dictionary.Coverage Dates: 1952 to present |
| HighWire Press Provides free, full text access to select content from peer-reviewed journals in the health, life, and physical sciences. |
| Hispanic Reading Room--Library of Congress The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the primary access point for research relating to those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America and Iberia; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage in Africa, Asia and Oceania. It features reference and illustrated guides, as well as online collections, presentations and exhibitions. |
| Historical Abstracts Abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers all branches of world history, including political, military, economic, social and cultural, as well as the history of science, technology, and medicine. (For U.S. & Canadian history see America: History & Life) Selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.Coverage Dates: 1955 to present |
| Historical Statistics of the United States Electronic edition of the 5-volume Historical Statistics of the United States. Find historical statistics on topics such as population, income, employment, education, crime, and economics. Users can export data to spreadsheets or create custom tables. |
| Humanities Full Text The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and moreCoverage Dates: Indexing/abstracting from 1984+ to Full Text from 1994+ |
| Humanities Index Retrospective An invaluable source that cites articles from some of the best-known English language scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included.Coverage Dates: 1907 to 1984 |
| Humanities International Complete Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. | |
| ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research Archive of social science data compiled by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Data covers a
broad range of topics, including political science, economics, sociology, health, and education. Data sets are accompanied by
a description of the scope, methodology, dates, and geographic coverage of the study and can be easily exported to
statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. |
| IEEE Xplore (ASPP=All Society Periodical Package) Abstracts and select full text of technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Full text is available for over 145 IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, from 2005 to present. Full text is also available for Proceedings of the IEEE and IEEE Spectrum back to 1999.Coverage Dates: 2005 to present |
| Image Gallery from Art Museums Digital library containing over 155,000 art images from the museum collections around the world. Many include curatorial text, provenance data, multiple views, and related multimedia. Spans artistic creation from 3000 B.C. to the present, with fine and decorative art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, including Native American and Meso-American peoples. |
| In the First Person Index to letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies of over 18,000 individuals found in archival repositories and other scholarly collections. Provides citations and in some cases links to full text, audio, and video files that are freely available on the web (access to some texts requires a subscription). |
| Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text Full text plus expert indexing of the most important legal journals and books.
Relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, Index to Legal Periodicals is now available with full text! Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
Select full text from 1995+ |
| Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. Search simultaneously with Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text for seamless power searching of nearly 100 years of legal history. |
| Infoshare Find population, health, and socio-economic data for New York City neighborhoods. View the demographic profile of a specific area or create comparison charts for two or more areas.Coverage Dates: 1980 to 2010 |
| Infotrac Newstand InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Click for Publication List. |
| IOPScience Full text access to journals from the Institute of Physics such as Journal of Physics, European Journal of Physics, Journal of Optics, and Nanotechnology. | |
| JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association Weekly peer-reviewed medical journal published by American Medical Association covering original medical research findings
and editorial opinion in the field of biomedical science. Full text is available for all issues published since 1998. Issues from 1961 to 2000 are available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.Coverage Dates: 1998 to present |
| Journal Citation Reports Provides journal performance metrics for evaluating and comparing scholarly journals in all areas of the sciences and social sciences. Using citation data collected from over 7,500 high-impact international journals, Journal Citation Reports offers a quantifiable statistical method for identifying the most important and influential journals in a field. Each report provides a variety of unique measurements for each journal, including its Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Cited Half-Life, and Citing Half-Life.Coverage Dates: 2004 to 2010 |
| Journal of the Optical Society of America A: Optics, Image Science & Vision Peer-reviewed physics journal published by the Optical Society of America covering research in all fields of optical science such as atmospheric optics, image processing, diffraction and gratings, color, and visual optics.Coverage Dates: 1984 to present |
| Journal of the Optical Society of America B: Optical Physics Peer-reviewed physics journal published by the Optical Society of America emphasizing research on the fundamentals of the interaction of radiation with matter such as quantum optics, nonlinear optics, and laser physics.Coverage Dates: 1984 to present |
| JSTOR Full text access to complete back runs of scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage for most journals does not include the last 3-5 years. Users can search across the entire database or limit their search to journals in specific subject disciplines.
Click here for a search tutorial.Coverage Dates: 1665 to present |
| JSTOR Data for Research A service provided by JSTOR that allows researchers to analyze the content of the JSTOR database, including data on word frequencies, publication patterns, key terms, and more. This is a beta site, and although free to users, the links to JSTOR articles will work only if your institution subscribes to JSTOR.
Click here for a search help or for FAQs | |
| Latino Literature This resource brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.
NEW FROM CSI
|
| Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text Full text plus expert indexing of the most important legal journals and books.
Relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, Index to Legal Periodicals is now available with full text! Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
Select full text from 1995+Coverage Dates: Indexing from 1981 to Abstracting from 1990+ |
| Legal Periodicals Retrospective This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. Search simultaneously with Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text for seamless power searching of nearly 100 years of legal history.Coverage Dates: 1908 to 1981 |
| LexisNexis Academic Full text access to a wide range of news, business, and legal information. News resources include major U.S. and world newspapers and magazines, TV and radio transcripts, newswires, and blogs. Business resources include industry and market
news, company profiles and SEC filings, and country profiles and business conditions. Legal resources include law reviews and
journals, U.S. case law, codes and statutes.Coverage Dates: 1963 to present |
| Library Literature & Information Science Full Text A unique working and teaching tool created by librarians for librarians.
Reflecting the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. This invaluable resource delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications. PDF page images of the full text articles bring researchers charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information. Providing enhanced access to your periodical collection, this database also steers users to valuable information on the Web with hotlinks to sites mentioned in articles.
Select full text from 1994+Coverage Dates: Indexing/Abstracting from 1984 to present |
| Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective This database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in library literature and information science, as far back as 1905. Coverage also includes full text content from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin (the classic trade magazine for librarians, founded in 1914), indexing from Library Work (1905-1911), plus citations to book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. Combine this with other Wilson databases such as Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and you have the most wide-ranging and deepest content of its kind available for library science students, educators and librarians.Coverage Dates: 1905 to 1983 |
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA) Abstracts and select full text of literature in library and information science. Includes major titles such as Library Journal,
American Libraries, College and Research Libraries, and Reference & User Services Quarterly.Coverage Dates: 1966 to present |
| LIFE Photo Archive Search millions of published and unpublished photographs from LIFE Magazine, stretching from the 1750s to today. Hosted by Google.Coverage Dates: 1750s to present |
| Literary Index Index to literature reference books published by Gale. Find citations to author biographies and literary criticism published in books such as Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Novels for Students, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Search by author or title of work. |
| Literature Resource Center Literature reference database useful for finding biographies, work overviews, bibliographies, literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. |
| Literature Resources from Gale Search across several major literature databases such as Literature Resource Center, MLA International Bibliography, Gale Virtual Reference Library, LitFinder, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Author Series to find full text literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. |
| LLMC Digital Law Library Digital collection of legal and government documents from the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of the U.S. government. Also includes some state law as well as foreign and international materials. |
| Los Angeles Times [Proquest] The LA Times is a leading source of news on Southern California, entertainment, movies, television, music, politics, business, health and more. Option to search in all issues from 1988.Coverage Dates: 1988 to present |
| LWW Nursing Book Collection Over 300 full text ebooks published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) covering all aspects of nursing including surgery, administration, pediatrics, diagnosis, palliative care, and more. |
| LWW Nursing Journal Collection 19 nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW), including titles such as AACN Advanced Critical Care; Advances in Nursing Science; Nurse Educator; Spine; Computers in Nursing; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing | |
| Making of America Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. MoA is a collaborative effort of Cornell University and the University of Michigan. |
| Making of the Modern World Part I and II Digital collection of economic and business literature published from 1450 to 1914, providing historical insight on the political, social, and economic conditions of the modern era. Part I (1450-1850) provides full-text searching of an abundance of rare books and primary source materials, including: monographs, serials, political pamphlets, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera. Part II (1851-1914) includes monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys.
Coverage Dates: 1450 to 1914 |
| MAS Ultra - School Edition Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text from more than 650 popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas.Coverage Dates: 1975 to present |
| MasterFile Premier Multidisciplinary database offering full text articles from popular magazines, newspapers, and some peer-reviewed journals. Also includes biographies, maps, world facts, and definitions from general reference books.Coverage Dates: 1975 to present |
| MathSciNet Citations and abstracts of articles, conference papers, and books published in the mathematical sciences since 1940.Coverage Dates: 1940 to present |
| Medline (Web of Knowledge) The U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier life sciences database. Contains citations and abstracts of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields. For full text, see MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost).Coverage Dates: 1950 to present |
| MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) Abstracts and select full text of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields. Differs from the free version (PubMed) in that it uses the EBSCOhost search interface and provides some full text.Coverage Dates: 1950 to present |
| MedlinePlus Gateway to consumer health information. Provides authoritative information about hundreds of diseases and health topics and
includes a medical directory, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, and factsheets on prescription and non-prescription drugs. |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook Full text reviews of standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and
related areas. Includes overview of the test, publication information, description of test materials, scoring information, and reviews. Print edition available at the Reference Desk [Call Number: BF176.B93].Coverage Dates: 1985 to present |
| Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Provides information about diagnosing and treating medical disorders for physicians and medical professionals. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: RM127.M4]. |
| Merck Manual of Medical Information Provides concise, easy-to-understand information about medical disorders, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment for patients and the general public. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: RC81.M535]. |
| Military and Government Collection Abstracts and select full text of periodicals and academic journals offering news and literature related to military and
government activities. Publications covered include Foreign Affairs, Political Science Quarterly,
Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Army Times, and FBI Law Enforcement
Bulletin. Also includes full text of government and primary source documents relevant for the study of U.S. government
and political history such as legislative bills, treaties, letters, speeches, and addresses.Coverage Dates: 1901 to present |
| MLA International Bibliography Database produced by the Modern Language Association containing citations to books, articles and dissertations on literature,
language, linguistics, folklore, and film from 1926 to present.
If there is FULL TEXT, you can click on the link to the "DOI . . . " which is the identifying number for the article.
Coverage Dates: 1926 to present |
| Multiple Database Search Federated search portal that allows you to search a variety of databases and electronic resources simultaneously. Simply select a subject to search all databases in that subject area. EBSCOhost Integrated Search makes it easier to access many electronic resources from a single search interface. Popular databases include, but are not limited to: Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, LexisNexis, CQ Researcher, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and WorldCat. |
| MyiLibrary Access to over 150 full text ebooks in business, literature, and history. Search by keyword or browse titles by subject. | |
| National Gallery of Art (NGA) NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration. |
| National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-1994 National Geographic magazine is the official journal of the National Geographic Society, one of the world's largest nonprofit educational and scientific organizations.
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive, includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface. With standard library features and functionality common to all Gale Digital Archives, National Geographic Magazine Archive is a powerful tool for finding and reading through the 100+ years of impactful articles found in this archive.
NEW FROM CUNY
|
| National Jukebox Currently offering free online streaming of over 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900-1925, the Library of Congress National Jukebox includes recordings of US, European, and Latin America composers and singers, among others. |
| National Newspaper Index Index of five major newspapers: New York Times (from 1980), Wall Street Journal (from 1980), Christian Science Monitor (from 1980), Los Angeles Times (from 1982) and Washington Post (from 1980). Also includes index for New York Times Magazine (from 1977) and New York Times Book Review (from 1980).Coverage Dates: 1977 to present |
| National Newspapers Core [Proquest] Search full text of major U. S. newspapers in one place: Christian Science Monitor; Los Angeles Times; New York Times; Washington Post. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper.Coverage Dates: 1988 to present |
| National Science Digital Library Digital library funded by National Science Foundation providing access to resources in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research. |
| Nature Magazine Interdisciplinary science journal covering research in all fields of science and technology, including biology, botany, medicine, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science. Full text is available for all issues published since 1997. Issues from 1869 to 1999 are available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.Coverage Dates: 1997 to present |
| NetLibrary = now EBSCO eBook Collection Access to over 5,000 full text e-books across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Find full text scholarly and reference books in a variety of subjects, including business, economics, computer science, history, political science, art, literature, and science.
In order to read offline or download to a reader, first create an account.
View Download Tutorial
Access the TRIAL through August |
| New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) Weekly peer-reviewed medical journal published by the Massachusetts Medical Society covering new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice. Full text is available for all issues published since 1993 and abstracts from 1975. Issues from 1828 to 2000 are available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.Coverage Dates: 1993 to present |
| New York City Community District Profiles Find summary data on any of New York City's 59 community districts. Each district profile contains data on population; birth, death and infant mortality rates; land area and land uses; levels of income support, and local facilities. |
| New York Public Library Digital Gallery Access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. |
| New York Public Library Resources Databases and electronic resources available from the New York Public Library. NYPL Library card required for access to most databases. Some databases can only be accessed on-site at the subscribing library. For a list of databases that can be accessed remotely,
click here. |
| New York Review of Books With a worldwide circulation of over 135,000, The New York Review of Books has established itself, in Esquire's words, as "the premier literary-intellectual magazine in the English language." The New York Review began during the New York publishing strike of 1963, when its founding editors, Robert Silvers and Barbara Epstein, and their friends, decided to create a new kind of magazine, one in which the most interesting and qualified minds of our time would discuss current books and issues in depth. |
| New York State Newspapers Full text of select New York state newspapers, including the New York Post (from 2000), New York Observer (from 1999), Albany Times (from 1986), and Buffalo News (from 1996). Coverage dates vary by publication.Coverage Dates: 1985 to present |
| New York Times [Proquest] For more than 150 years, Times readers have expected their newspaper to provide the most thorough and uncompromising coverage in the world. The Times has won more Pulitzer prizes than any other news organization and remains No. 1 in overall reach of U.S. opinion leaders.Coverage Dates: 1980 to present |
| New York Times Book Review [Proquest] The weekly book review section. Compelling reviews and, of course, the expanded best sellers lists now include e-book lists for fiction and nonfiction. |
| New York Times Historical (Proquest) Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2007. Recent issues available thru Lexis-Nexis. Additional holdings.Coverage Dates: 1851 to 2007 |
| New York Times Magazine [Proquest] Every Sunday, The New York Times Magazine sets the tone for the country?s conversation, captivating readers with the practiced art of conveying stories ? about politics, global issues, finance and the economy, culture, design, the sciences and more. It sparks national discussions, while bringing illuminating depth to the events it covers.Coverage Dates: 1986 to present |
| New York Times Online The website offers free access only to subscribers. For complete full text options, see New York Times Historical (1851-2005) or Lexis-Nexis (1980-present). Additional holdings.Coverage Dates: 1851 to present |
| NewsBank's Special Reports NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports. |
| Nursing Resource Center Designed for nursing students, this resource brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal articles, and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams. Information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process. | |
| Occupational Outlook Handbook Career information handbook describing the activities, working conditions, educational requirements, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: HF5382.5.U5O3]. |
| Online Books Page Provides access to electronic books that are freely available on the web. Available titles tend to be older books that are in the public domain (i.e. copyright on the material has expired). Search by author, title, or subject. |
| Opposing Viewpoints in Context Provides access to full text literature about current controversial issues such as abortion, capital punishment, climate change, cloning, gun control, immigration, and more. Available material on each topic includes viewpoint essays, topic overviews, newspaper and magazine articles, statistics, and links to related web sites. |
| Optics InfoBase Full text journals from the Optical Society of America including titles such as Applied Optics, JOSA A, JOSA B, Optics Letters, Journal of Lightwave Technology, and Journal of Optical Technology. Also includes recent conference proceedings.Coverage Dates: 1946 to present |
| Oxford Art Online A comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Find artist biographies, images of art works, definitions of key terms, and encyclopedia articles on art history topics. |
| Oxford English Dictionary Comprehensive dictionary providing the meaning, history, and pronunciation for more than a half million words in the English language, past and present. Print edition located in Reference [Call Number: PE1625.O87]. |
| Oxford Journals Full text access to over 200 scholarly journals published by Oxford University Press in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. |
| Oxford Music Online A comprehensive music reference work covering all aspects of popular and classical music. Find artist/composer biographies, definitions of key terms, descriptions of major musical works and instruments, and encyclopedia articles on musical genres, styles, and traditions. |
| Oxford Reference Online Digital collection of online reference books in all fields of study including dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and subject reference works. Search by keyword or browse titles by subject. | |
| Palgrave Connect ebooks Over 3,000 titles offered in the Humanities, the Social Sciences and Business from recent years. These ebooks are available in collections organized by year of publication and by discipline.
2010-1012 EBOOKS FROM CUNY
Coverage Dates: 2009 to 2011 |
| Perseus Digital Library Digital collection of texts, images, and maps for the study of the Humanities. Originally focused on the ancient world, the collection has since expanded to include other civilizations and time periods. Contains literary and historical materials on Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval and Renaissance Europe, and early America. |
| Pew Hispanic Center The Pew Hispanic Center chronicles Latinos' diverse experiences in a changing America. This is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. |
| Philosophers' Index Citations to scholarly literature in all major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, political philosophy, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.Coverage Dates: 1940 to present |
| Physics Journals from AIP, APS, etc. Abstracts and select full text of scholarly literature in physics, engineering, and mathematics. Indexes over 100 journals from professional societies such as the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. |
| Physics Journals from IOP Full text access to journals from the Institute of Physics such as Journal of Physics, European Journal of Physics, Journal of Optics, and Nanotechnology.Coverage Dates: 1923 to present |
| PLOS Biology Open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLoS). |
| PLOS Medicine Open-access, peer-reviewed medical journal published by the Public Library of Science (PLoS). |
| Population Index Citations to the world's demographic and population literature from 1986 - 2000, including books, articles, working papers, dissertations, and data files. Search by author, subject, region, or keyword. Back issues of the index from 1937 - 1999 are available thru JSTORCoverage Dates: 1986 to 2000 |
| Primary Search for Elementary Schools Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. |
| Professional Development Collection Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. |
| Project MUSE Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences primarily covering the fields of literature, history, cultural studies, political science, religion, and the arts.
(Books are not available yet)Coverage Dates: varies from 1958 to present |
| PsycArticles Full text articles from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations in subject areas such as psychological theory, applied psychology, clinical research, mental health, personality disorders, and more.Coverage Dates: 1894 to present |
| Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Full text psychology journals published by SAGE Publications, including International Journal of Behavioral Development, Journal of Adolescent Research, and Journal of Health Psychology.Coverage Dates: 1941 to present |
| PsycINFO Abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports in behavioral science and mental health from the 1800s to the present. Also includes literature about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, anthropology, business, and law.Coverage Dates: 1800s to present |
| Public Library of Law A collection of free law materials including case law, statutes, regulations, court rules, and federal and state constitutions. Registration is required to view results, but it is free. |
| PubMed (MEDLINE) Free database of medical literature produced by the National Library of Medicine. Contains citations and abstracts of articles in medicine, dentistry, nursing, and related fields. For full text, see MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost).Coverage Dates: 1950 to present | |
| Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Abstracts and select full text from popular magazines and general interest periodicals from 1983 to present. Great source of material on U.S. popular culture, including art, fashion, music, film, leisure, and sports. Includes titles such as Better Homes & Gardens, Entertainment Weekly, Esquire, Good Housekeeping, Sports Illustrated, and Vanity Fair. For literature published before 1983, see Readers' Guide Retrospective.Coverage Dates: 1983 to present |
| Readers' Guide Retrospective Index of popular magazines and general interest periodicals from 1890 to 1982. Great source of material on U.S. cultural history, including art, fashion, music, film, leisure, and sports. Includes titles such as Atlantic Monthly, Colliers, Harper's, Ladies' Home Journal, and Look. For literature published after 1982, see Readers' Guide Full Text.Coverage Dates: 1890 to 1982 |
| RefWorks Web-based bibliographic citation manager that allows researchers to create their own personal database of research references by importing records from library catalogs and online databases. Researchers can organize, store, and access their references from their online RefWorks account as well as automatically generate formatted citations and bibliographies in any style. For the college login information, contact the Library Reference Desk (718.982.4010) or Amy Stempler (718.982.3917). RefWorks Tutorial |
| Regional Business News Provides full text coverage for regional business publications, including 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.Coverage Dates: 1969 to present | |
| SAGE Premier Full Text Collections Over 600 full text journals from SAGE Publications in all areas. Since 1965, SAGE has helped inform and educate a global community of scholars, practitioners, researchers, and students spanning a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.
Click here for title list |
| Salem Health: Psychology & Mental Health Psychology and mental health reference covering core aspects of behaviorism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology in addition to concise overviews of disorders, diagnoses, treatments, and tests. |
| Salem History Full text history reference books from Salem Press. Provides general information about historical eras, events, and figures. Includes titles such as Milestone Documents, The Decades, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History and Musicians and Composers. |
| Salem Literature Series Critical Insight series for authors and works:
Gabriel Garcia Marquez; Canterbury Tales;
Grapes of Wrath;
One Hundred Years of Solitude; The Handmaid's Tale. |
| Salem Literature: Critical Survey of Long Fiction Literary reference series offering profiles of major writers of long fiction throughout history and the world, including analyses of their significant novels and novellas. Discusses the novel in overview essays by time period, country, ethnicity, and genre, and provides valuable resource material. |
| Salem Science Includes the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues and the Encyclopedia of Global Warming. |
| Science Citation Index Expanded Part of the Web of Science, Science Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the sciences, including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics, psychiatry, and zoology.Coverage Dates: 2004 to present |
| Science Magazine Weekly peer-reviewed general science journal published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science covering news, research, and commentary in all areas of the sciences. Full text is available for all issues published since 1997. Issues from 1880 to 2002 are available thru JSTOR. See library catalog for additional holdings.Coverage Dates: 1997 to present |
| ScienceDirect Abstracts of scholarly literature in science, technology, and medicine with full text available for articles published after 1995. Core subjects include physics, chemistry, engineering, biology, environmental science, health and medicine. Also provides coverage of a number of titles in the social sciences and humanities (particularly management, economics, psychology, and linguistics). Please note that the Library does not subscribe to all journals in ScienceDirect. Subscribed content is marked by a green "full text available" icon.Coverage Dates: 1823 to present |
| SciFinder Electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. Provides citations to articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, and dissertations in chemistry and related fields. Also includes the CAS REGISTRY (CAS Registry Numbers, physical property data, and structure diagrams), CASREACT (reaction data), CHEMCATS (chemical source data), and CHEMLIST (regulatory information) databases.
To use SciFinder Scholar, you first must create a user account using your College email address.Coverage Dates: 1907 to present |
| Scitation Abstracts and select full text of scholarly literature in physics, engineering, and mathematics. Indexes over 100 journals from professional societies such as the American Institute of Physics, American Physical Society, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.Coverage Dates: 1893 to present |
| Serials Directory Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost?. It contains nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. Classifications for every entry. |
| Social Explorer Historical U.S. census data from 1790 to 2007. Use interactive maps to analyze changing demographic characteristics in U.S. states, counties, or tracts and generate statistical reports.Coverage Dates: 1790 to 2007 |
| Social Science Citation Index Part of the Web of Science, Social Science Citation Index provides citations to journal articles in the social sciences, including anthropology, education, history, library science, law, philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies.Coverage Dates: 2004 to present |
| Social Sciences Full Text Enjoy fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.Coverage Dates: 1983 to present |
| Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 Social Sciences Retrospective offers a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences, dating back to the early 1900s. Topics include the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.Coverage Dates: 1929 to 1983 |
| SocIndex FT Citations and select full text of scholarly articles, books, and conference papers in sociology. Topics covered include criminology, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, substance abuse, violence, and urban studies.Coverage Dates: 1895 to present |
| SpringerLink Full text journals, books, and reference works published by Springer. Core focus is science, technology, and medicine but includes some titles in the social sciences and humanities. Please note that the Library does not subscribe to all publications in SpringerLink. |
| SpringerLink eBooks Over 12,500 full text ebooks and reference works published by Springer. Core focus is science, technology, and medicine but includes some titles in the social sciences and humanities.
2009-2011 EBOOKS FROM CUNY
|
| Staten Island Advance Full text of Staten Island's local newspaper, the Staten Island Advance, from October 1991 to present. Electronic access is also available from LexisNexis (Aug. 2006 - present). Issues from Aug. 1945 to Dec. 2007 are available on microfilm. See library catalog for holdings.Coverage Dates: 1991 to present | |
| Taylor & Francis Library Multidisciplinary database providing access to over 1,220 full text scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Click here for a list of available titles. |
| Teacher Reference Center Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. |
| Testing & Education Reference Center Digital collection of resources and study guides to help students prepare for educational and professional tests. Includes graduate school admission tests such as the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, and MAT; tests for international students such as TOEFL and TOEIC; as well as career tests for nursing, education, civil service and the military. |
| The Hispanic Society of America Museum and Library The Hispanic Society of America provides a free museum and reference library for the study of the arts and cultures of Spain, Portugal and Latin America. |
| THOMAS: Congressional Information Database of federal legislative information including bills, Congressional proceedings, Congressional reports, legislative histories, and public laws. |
| Trial Databases from CUNY CUNY-wide trial databases. |
| Twayne's Author Series Full text biographies and literary criticism for approximately 200 authors around the world. Note: Content from the Twayne's Authors Series is also contained within Literature Resources from Gale. | |
| U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Official U.S. economic data from the Department of Labor related to topics such as employment, wages, prices, and inflation. |
| U.S. Census Bureau Official demographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau covering births, deaths, education, employment, income, housing, and much more. |
| U.S. Congressional Directory Official directory of the U.S. Congress containing biographical and contact information for each member of the Senate and House from 1997 - present. Also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries. |
| U.S. Department of State The State Department's portal of information on U.S. foreign policy and information about the State Department. |
| U.S. Government Catalog of Publications Search for citations to current and historical government publications. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, or general key word. |
| U.S. Government Manual Official handbook of the Federal Government containing comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Also includes information on quasi-official agencies, boards, commissions, and committees. |
| U.S. Government's Official Web Portal: FirstGov FirstGov offers links to all US government sites of interest, including the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches, information on benefits, grants, defense, education and more. |
| U.S. House of Representatives Biographical and contact information for members of the House of Representatives. Also includes information about House committees, commissions, and task forces. |
| U.S. Patent Database Search full text patents issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) since 1790. |
| U.S. Senate Provides information about members of the U.S. Senate as well resources about congressional legislation, records, and committees. |
| U.S. Statistical Abstract The Statistical Abstract of the United States contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. |
| UlrichsWeb Periodical Database Authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information for magazines, newspapers, journals, and other periodicals. Provides publisher details, ISSN, alternative titles, publication dates, abstracting and indexing sources, reviews, and subscription information. |
| UNdata International data collected by the United Nations. Find global statistics on a wide range of topics including agriculture, economic development, energy, environment, health, population, trade, and more. |
| United Nations Portal to information about the United Nations and international issues. Includes UN reports, resolutions, meeting records, and press releases. | |
| ValueLine Investment Survey A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 98 industries, the stock market, and the economy (does not cover mutual funds and options). Search for stock reports by company name or ticker symbol. Search by industry name to find reports on all companies within a sector or view a report on a particular industry. NOTE: This resource can only be accessed by a limited number of simultaneous users. If you are unable to connect, please try again in 10-15 minutes. If problem persists, contact the Reference Desk at 718.982.4010. |
| Victorian Studies Bibliography Citations to books, articles, and dissertations covering all aspects of the Victorian period, including art, literature, history, politics, economics, science, and religion. | |
| Wall Street Journal [Proquest] The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international business, finance, and economic news. Full text is available for all issues published since 1984. Issues from 1889 to 2007 are available on microfilm.Coverage Dates: 1984 to present |
| Washington Post [Proquest] Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment and more. In-depth DC, Virginia, Maryland news coverage. Articles from the newspaper. Option to search through all issues.Coverage Dates: 1988 to present |
| Web of Knowledge Provides access to several databases from one platform: Web of Science (1990 - present), Biological Abstracts (2004 - present), BIOSIS Previews (1969 - present), MEDLINE (1950 - present), and Journal Citation Reports (2004 - 2010). |
| Web of Science Offers a single point of access to Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including Science Citation Index Expanded (2004-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (2004-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (2004-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Web of Science provides citations to articles in over 10,000 high-impact journals, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Its powerful search and analysis tools allow users to discover how many times a particular author or article has been cited and by whom, and to locate later works which cite a specific article. Click here for search tutorials |
| Wiley Online Library Multidisciplinary database offering full text access to select scholarly journals in the fields of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
For TUTORIALS, click hereCoverage Dates: 1997 to present |
| Wolfram|Alpha A computational knowledge engine, which aims to answer factual questions instead of simply providing links to relevant web sites. It offers everything from definitions, biographies, and statistics to mathematical formulas, chemical properties, and stock quotes. |
| Women and Social Movements Digital collection of articles, essays, books, bibliographies, and primary source materials documenting the history of women's reform activities in the U.S. from 1600 to 2000.Coverage Dates: 1600 to 2000 |
| World Bank Data The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Sort on many options such as economic policy, health, environment and education. Includes research reports, prospects, data, documents and tools |
| World Factbook U.S. government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications, and military. Print edition available at the Reference Desk [Call Number: G122.U56a 2001]. |
| WorldCat Union catalog containing records of library holdings all over the world. Use WorldCat to locate books, journals, audio and video recordings, and archival materials held by other libraries. If an item you want is not available at CUNY simply click "Find It" to request an interlibrary loan. |
|
|